Door County King of the Hills Challenge

Click here to be added to the participant list.

Click here for a tutorial on joining events and signing up for RideWithGPS>>

The Peninsula Century Fall Challenge course is not your average recreational ride course. The 100-mile route includes many challenging hills that push even strong cyclists.

Those hills inspired us to add a competitive aspect to the ride for those who want to see how deep they can dig on those climbs. Earn prizes in 5 age divisions for men and women!

In 2019 male age division winners will receive a $50 gift card to Wild Restaurants Concepts, while women will win a $50 gift card to Spot. Overall winners will once again receive a Hills bike jersey, as well as a 1-night stay in a premier suite at the Birchwood Lodge and a complimentary registration for the 2020 Fall Challenge!

Age divisions:

29 and under
30 – 39
40 – 49
50 – 59
60 and over

How to Participate

We chose three climbs to create the King/ Queen of the Hill Challenge that all 100-mile participants are welcome to participate in at no additional charge.

To be eligible for prizes riders must:

    • Be registered for the Peninsula Century Ride 100-mile route and signed up on RideWithGPS. There’s no fee to sign up. 

    • Record your time on iPhone or Android, or any other compatible GPS device, and upload to RideWithGPS.

    • Follow the rules of the road. Riders will be eliminated from consideration if they are witnessed violating the rules of the road, including crossing the centerline or ignoring stop signs on the routes.

  • To be eligible for prizes you must finish all three climbs by 3 pm. Why? Because we want people to compete in the course of riding, not take long breaks to save energy to hammer up the hills. It also enables us to determine the winners by the end of the post-ride meal.

To record your times and show on the event specific leaderboard, follow these easy steps:

  1. Click this auto-approval link to be added to the event participant list.
  2. Record your ride using the app. Keeping screen off requires next to no battery life to just record and can be done with the phone switched to airplane mode. Once you save your ride your time will automatically be saved and viewable on the event leaderboard.
  3. If you prefer, you can also record using another GPS device like your Garmin. Simply follow these steps to upload your ride to Ride with GPS once you are done to have your times counted on the leaderboard.

2014 Winners

Men:  Luca Fagundes, Egg Harbor
Women: Mandy Hagman, Sturgeon Bay

2015 Winners

Men: Sam Dannenbring, Sturgeon Bay
Women: Tanya Adelman, St. Paul, Minnesota

2016 Winners

Men:  Cody Pawlak
Women:  Mandy Hagman

2017 Winners

Men:  Kyle Demerath
Women:  Katie Meyer

2018 Winners

Men: Kyle Demerath
Women: June Matzke

The Climbs

We have created three climbs on RideWithGPS that will be marked with signs on the right hand side of the road reading “Segment Begins 100 feet”, “Segment Start”, and near the end, you will see signs reading “Segment End.”

The climbs are labeled as:

Peninsula Panic

1.4 mile climb from the bottom of the Ephraim hill up to Eagle Terrace in Peninsula State Park featuring a 2% average grade and a total gain of 184 feet of elevation.

Monument Mayhem

.7 mile climb featuring a 4% average grade and a gain of 152 feet of elevation. This climb from Bay Shore Drive up Monument Point Road is known as one of the county’s most brutal climbs. Have fun!

Lakeview Linger

1.4 mile climb on Lakeview Road in Ellison Bay features a view of the lake to your left (if you can spare a moment to glance at it), a 2% average grade, and a total gain of 134 feet of elevation.

Determining the winners

There will be one male and one female champion, the King and Queen of the Hills. This will be determined by totaling times on all three climbs recorded during the event. Fastest rider wins!


Each overall winner receives:

    • A special Peninsula Century ride King of the Hills jersey.

    • Complimentary entry to next year’s Peninsula Century Fall Challenge Ride

  • 1-night stay in a premier suite at the Birchwood Lodge

Overall winners can not double dip, i.e., overall winners can’t win their age group as well.

Age Group Winners Receive

  • Men receive a $50 gift card to Wild Restaurant Concepts
  • Women receive a $50 gift card to Spot

So get out and start tackling some climbs!

“This was the MOST outstanding event ever–beats many events in the U.S. & Europe!”

Brent Finses

“The Northern Door route was great but the food was FANTASTIC!”

Shawn Garvey


Presenting Sponsors

Major Sponsors

Our Events